Alstom’s Coradia iLint wins the 2023 Environmental Sustainability CUTA award

1 min read

Alstom’s Coradia iLint hydrogen-powered train has won the Canadian Urban Transit Association’s (CUTA) Award for Environmental Sustainability thanks to its emission-free operation and demonstration of a successful hydrogen ecosystem for the rail sector.

The Coradia iLint was the first hydrogen-powered train transporting passengers in all North America. It carried more than 10,000 passengers in a demonstration project in Quebec from mid-June to the end of September 2023 on the Réseau Charlevoix rail network along the Saint-Lawrence River. 

Using Alstom’s green hydrogen-powered train on this route helped save approximately 8,400 liters of diesel and averted 22 tons of CO2 direct emissions, compared to the diesel trains that normally service this route.

During the demonstration project, Alstom and its partners laid the foundation for a comprehensive, safe, and efficient hydrogen ecosystem for the heavy transportation sector in North America, from production to refueling to operation.

This is the first project from the Alstom Americas Innovation Center bringing thought leadership, as well as technical, operational, and regulatory expertise on green propulsion solutions.

In addition, Alstom and its partners welcomed 34 commercial, governmental, and regulatory delegations from all over North America to experience this hydrogen-propulsion technology, setting the stage for wider implementation of green transit across North America.

Michael Keroullé, president of Alstom Americas, said, “This summer, we demonstrated that hydrogen trains can be an attractive, safe, and viable alternative to diesel on non-electrified lines and that Alstom can do it right here in North America. We proudly accept the 2023 CUTA Environmental Sustainability Award and thank the association for helping elevate transit innovation and excellence in Canada.”

Alstom also received a second CUTA Award, for the Rainbow Train, a virtual pride parade, the first ever awarded in the Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion category.